h1

Long Slow Distance for Running

08/28/2011

Over the winter I tried running shorter duration higher intensity work outs. When I raced in June and July my run sucked. I decided to embrace LSD (long slow distance). Most all of the runs were at a 10 minute mile pace. My July mileage was 100 miles. Today 8/28 I hit 102 and will go over 115 for this month. My biggest week was 35 miles.

The secret to doing this is to do each run easy so you can run 6 days a week. My typical week would go 3,7,3,7,4,9 for a total of 33 miles. If you use too much intensity you find it difficult to get all of the runs in during a week and consistency is the key. You have to build up your mileage using this sequence (time or distance multiple unit) 1,2,1,2,1,3. I started in July and did not do a 7 mile run until 7/27 and I already had a fair base. The 7 mile run was at a 10:22 pace and 138 bpm. Todays run was 9.13 miles at 9:52 at 139 bpm.

I have made the mistake of trying to add intensity during these 2 months and each time it resulted in my needing to skip a run.For me intensity and 6 day a week running currently appear to be mutually exclusive. The best part of this is the ease and comfortable ability to handle longer (for me) runs. Last week I did a 10 miler, and it was not a problem, although the bike ride the next day did suffer.

One comment

  1. Have you ever tried a coach. I am new so I don’t have a strong history, but I am very glad I am using a coach.



Leave a comment